Who We Are

We are the Black Ministers Conference of Montgomery County, Maryland.  We were formulated at The Macedonia Baptist Church in Bethesda, MD on March 7, 1981. 

The Black Ministers’ Conference of Montgomery County Maryland is an Alliance of Predominantly Black Churches in Montgomery County, Maryland that have Joined Together to Promote the Causes of the Black Community:

  • Enlarge and to Enrich the Religious Life of the Black Community by Drawing Closer to God the Father, the Lord Jesus Christ, and the Holy Spirit. Seek to keep the Black Church both timely and relevant to the Lives of Black people.
  • Economic Prosperity
  • Equal Education Opportunity
  • Racial Justice and Equality
  • Equal Access to Quality Health Care

And to Fight Against and Work to Eliminate the Threats to Black People and the Black Community.

  • Coronavirus/Covid-19 and other Health Care Issues for Black People
  • Racial Prejudice, Hatred, Bigotry, Discrimination and Injustice
  • Poverty

The Black Ministers’ Conference of Montgomery County, Maryland was founded March 7th, 1981. The current President is Rev. Dr. Gareth Murray, Sr..

Membership is open to all clergy of Montgomery County, without regards to their race or ecclesiastical persuasion upon approval of application.  The membership dues are $100.00 per year for Full membership and Affiliate membership.  Associate membership is $75.00 per year.

The Black Ministers Conference of Montgomery County, Maryland is supportive of the total community, spiritually, socially physically and in other appropriate areas of need that are not being met by any other organization.

The Conference provides a formal mechanism and structure for the presentation of Black religious life, expression, and spirituality to the people of Montgomery County. The conference provides learning opportunities for ministers.

Willie Jolley after motivating the conference by teaching how to deliver a home run message!

The Conference serves as an outreach to the local community by making its spiritual resources and expertise available to the people of Montgomery County by coordinating the efforts of our individual churches, by participating in community, religious and cultural programs and by becoming actively involved in the civic concerns of the community when feasible.

The organization functions as a straight line structure organization.  The leadership consists of; President, First Vice President, Second Vice President, Chaplain, Secretary, Assistant Secretary, Treasurer, Assistant Treasurer, and Member Representatives.  With each elected to serve two-year terms. These offices constitute the conference’s executive board.

 If you have any questions or comments, make sure to get in touch through the Contact Us section of this site.

Officers 2023-2025

Rev. Dr. Gareth Murray, Sr.
1st Vice President
Rev. Dr. Elwood R. Gray
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Rev-Darryl-A-Burton-863x1024.jpgSECOND VICE PRESIDENT
2nd Vice-President
Rev. Darryl A. Burton
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Minster-Daisy-Thompson-633x1024.jpgSECRETARY
Min. Daisy Thompson
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Rev-Delores-McKoy.jpgTREASURER
Rev. Delores McKoy
Rev. Dr. Marcus Jerkins
Member Representative
Rev. James Boney
Member Representative
Rev. Dr. Kecia Ford